The 27th International Colloquium on Scanning Probe Microscopy (ICSPM27) will be held at Hotel Laforet Shuzenji from December 5 to 7, 2019.

ICSPM has been held under the sponsorship of The Japan Society of Applied Physics, and was originally a series of the domestic conferences on SPM organized in 1985 first to stimulate the SPM related science and technology which were growing in Japan. In 1993, the conference was reorganized as an international colloquium and has been held annually.

In 2000, ICSPM8 and Asian SPM 3 were held in conjunction to make a progressive development of this field. The Asian SPM is the conference organized to encourage interactions and exchange of participants from Asian and Pacific rim countries. In 2002, in order to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the colloquium, the ICSPM10 was successfully held in Hawaii. In 2005, ICSPM13 was held in conjunction with STM05 in Sapporo with more than 750 participants from 39 countries. Following ICSPM20 in Toyako (Hokkaido) in 2012, 20th anniversary of the colloquium was celebrated in Okinawa in 2012. Last year, ICSPM21 was held in conjunction with ACSIN-12 in Tsukuba, with the participants of 667 including 224 from foreign countries.

For details, follow the links below to browse the previous conference sites:

Proceedings of the previous colloquiums can be found [here].

We are planning to invite several distinguished scientists to develop the potential of SPM works for the future. In addition, we have prepared several awards. You are cordially invited to participate in the conference. Active participation of young researchers, especially students, is strongly encouraged.


Thin Film and Surface Physics Division of The Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP),

Scope and Topics

The conference will cover recent advances in scanning probe techniques like STM, AFM and SNOM. Fields of interest are:

  • Bio- & macromolecules and polymers
  • Semiconductors and metals
  • Surface reactions
  • Magnetic systems
  • Nanotubes and 1-D wires
  • Nano-optical phenomena
  • Single molecules and single atoms
  • Nano-patterning
  • Cells and biological systems
  • Theory and simulations
  • Tip preparation and functionalisation
  • Bottom-up process
  • Molecular electronics

Contributions to the scientific program regarding all aspects and application of these techniques are welcome.


Invited and contributed talks, poster presentations and vendor exhibitions will constitute the program. You are kindly invited to submit an abstract to participate in the conference. On the basis of the submitted abstracts a selection will be made of contributions to be presented as an invited or contributed talk or as a poster. All accepted abstracts become part of an abstract book, to be distributed at the conference. Conference participants are invited to contribute a paper, which must contain new material preferably unpublished at the time of the conference. These papers will be published in the official proceedings of the conference.

See the schedule for the detail.


Proceedings of the colloquium will be published in Special Issue "Scanning Probe Microscopy" in Japanese Journal of Applied Physics (JJAP), an IOP Journal, in August 2020.

Poster Award

The ICSPM Poster Award recognizes outstanding poster presentations at ICSPM27. Anyone 35 or younger as of Dec 05, 2019 is encouraged to apply as eligible. Application can be made at the time of abstract submission.


Prof. Masamichi Yoshimura
Nano High-Tech Research Center, Toyota Technological Institute.

Prof. Masamichi Yoshimura
Nano High-Tech Research Center, Toyota Technological Institute.

Mr Shu Igarashi
Japanese Society of Applied Physics (Oyobutsuri).

Mr. Sakakibara
Hokkai Travel.


  • Hidemi Shigekawa (Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Hiroshi Onishi (Chair: Kobe Univ., Japan)

  • Takashi Ichii (Kyoto Univ., Japan)
  • Futoshi Iwata (Shizuoka Univ., Japan)
  • Takayuki Uchihashi (Nagoya Univ., Japan)
  • Takaharu Okajima (Hokkaido Univ., Japan)
  • Shigeki Kawai (NIMS, Japan)
  • Nobuhiko Katsuyoshi (Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Hidemi Shigekawa (Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Yasuhiro Sugawara (Osaka Univ., Japan)
  • Ken Nakajima (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Yukio Hasegawa (Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Tomohiro Hayashi (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Koji Miyake (AIST, Japan)
Funding, General Affair
  • Masamichi Yoshimura (Toyota Tech. Inst., Japan)
Local Arrangement
  • Yutaka Mera (Shiga Univ. of Medical Science, Japan)
  • Takaharu Okajima (Hokkaido Univ., Japan)
Publicity, Website
  • Osamu Takeuchi (Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Ken Nakajima (Chair: Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Koji Sumitomo (Vice-Chair: Univ. of Hyogo, Japan)
  • Tomonobu Nakayama (Vice-Chair: MANA, NIMS, Japan)

  • Takayuki Uchihashi (Nagoya Univ., Japan)
  • Masami Kageshima (Osaka Electro-Communication Univ., Japan)
  • Shigeki Kawai (MANA, NIMS, Japan)
  • Tadahiro Komeda (Tohoku Univ., Japan)
  • Takuji Takahashi (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Ken-ichi Fukui (Osaka Univ., Japan)
Japan Society of Applied Physics
  • Shu Igarashi (Thin Film and Surface Physics Division, JSAP)