The 22nd International Colloquium on Scanning Probe Microscopy (ICSPM22) will be held at Atagawa Heights, Shizuoka prefecture in Japan from December 11 to13, 2014.

ICSPM has been held under the sponsorship of The Japan Society of Applied Physics, and was originally a series of the domestic conferences on SPM organized in 1985 first to stimulate the SPM related science and technology which were growing in Japan. In 1993, the conference was reorganized as an international colloquium and has been held annually.

In 2000, ICSPM8 and Asian SPM 3 were held in conjunction to make a progressive development of this field. The Asian SPM is the conference organized to encourage interactions and exchange of participants from Asian and Pacific rim countries. In 2002, in order to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the colloquium, the ICSPM10 was successfully held in Hawaii. In 2005, ICSPM13 was held in conjunction with STM05 in Sapporo with more than 750 participants from 39 countries. Following ICSPM20 in Toyako (Hokkaido) in 2012, 20th anniversary of the colloquium was celebrated in Okinawa in 2012. Last year, ICSPM21 was held in conjunction with ACSIN-12 in Tsukuba, with the participants of 667 including 224 from foreign countries.

For details, follow the links below to browse the previous conference sites:

We are planning to invite several distinguished scientists to develop the potential of SPM works for the future. In addition, we have prepared several awards. You are cordially invited to participate in the conference. Active participation of young researchers, especially students, is strongly encouraged.


The Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP)

Scope and Topics

The conference will cover recent advances in scanning probe techniques like STM, AFM and SNOM. Fields of interest are:

  • Bio- & macromolecules and polymers
  • Semiconductor and metal surface structure
  • Adsorbates and reactions on inorganic materials
  • Magnetic systems
  • Nanotubes and 1-D wires
  • Catalysis & electrochemistry
  • Nano-optical phenomena
  • Interaction within and between single molecules
  • Atom and molecular manipulation
  • Nano-patterning
  • Cells and biological systems
  • Theory of probe-matter interactions
  • Tip preparation and functionalisation
  • Bottom-up process
  • Molecular electronics

Contributions to the scientific program regarding all aspects and application of these techniques are welcome.


Invited and contributed talks, poster presentations and vendor exhibitions will constitute the program. You are kindly invited to submit an abstract to participate in the conference. On the basis of the submitted abstracts a selection will be made of contributions to be presented as an invited or contributed talk or as a poster. All accepted abstracts become part of an abstract book, to be distributed at the conference. Conference participants are invited to contribute a paper, which must contain new material preferably unpublished at the time of the conference. These papers will be published in the official proceedings of the conference.

Poster Award

The ICSPM Poster Award recognizes outstanding poster presentations at ICSPM22. Anyone 35 or younger as of Dec 11, 2014 is encouraged to apply as eligible. Application can be made at the time of abstract submission.


Prof. Masamichi Yoshimura
Nano High-Tech Research Center, Toyota Technological Institute.

Prof. Masamichi Yoshimura
Nano High-Tech Research Center, Toyota Technological Institute.

Ms. Michiyo Oda
Japanese Society of Applied Physics (Oyobutsuri).


  • Hidemi Shigekawa (Tsukuba Univ., Japan)
  • Ken Nakajima (Tohoku Univ., Japan)

  • Hiroshi Onishi (Kobe Univ., Japan)
  • Takaharu Okajima (Hokkaido Univ., Japan)
  • Katsuyoshi Kobayashi (Chair: Ochanomizu Univ., Japan)
  • Hidemi Shigekawa (Tsukuba Univ., Japan)
  • Koji Miyake (AIST, Japan)
  • Hideki Kawakatsu (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Yasuhiro Sugawara (Osaka Univ., Japan)
  • Osamu Kurokawa (Kyoto Univ., Japan)
Funding, General Affair
  • Masamichi Yoshimura (Toyota Tech. Inst., Japan)
Local Arrangement
  • Yutaka Mera (Shiga Univ. of Medical Science, Japan)
  • Osamu Takeuchi (Tsukuba Univ., Japan)
  • Masami Kageshima (Chair: Kansai Medical Univ., Japan)

  • Takuji Takahashi (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Ken Nakajima (Tohoku Univ., Japan)
  • Ken-ichi Fukui (Osaka Univ., Japan)
  • Tadahiro Komeda (Tohoku Univ., Japan)
  • Koji Sumitomo (NTT Basic Research Lab.)
  • Takayuki Uchihashi (Kanazawa Univ., Japan)
  • Tomonobu Nakayama (NIMS, Japan)
Japan Society of Applied Physics
  • Michiyo Oda (Thin Film and Surface Physics Division)