November 4 - 8, 2013, Tsukuba, Japan.

The Nanoscience Prize

The Nanoscience Prize was founded at the ACSIN-5 and has been awarded to scientists that established "Outstanding Achievements in Nanoscience."

The Nanoscience Prize 2013 has been awarded to Dr. Masakazu Aono, Director-General of the International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (MANA,, for his outstanding studies on the atomic scale control of surfaces, interfaces and nanostructures, and contribution to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnology. The award ceremony including a lecture by Dr. Aono will be held on November 7, 2013 (16:00 to 17:00) at the Main Convention Hall.

We cordially invite you to attend the award ceremony.

Biography of Dr. Masakazu Aono

Masakazu Aono is the director-general of the International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (MANA), National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Japan. He obtained his PhD from the University Tokyo in 1972, and was subsequently a research staff member at the National Institute for Research in Inorganic Materials (NIRIM) [1972-1986], a senior scientist at the Institute for Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN) [1986-2002], the professor of atomic-scale materials control at Osaka University [1996-2005], and the director-general of Nanomaterials Laboratory (NML), NIMS [2002-2006]. He arrived at the present position at MANA in 2007; MANA is one of the five research centers in the framework of the World Premier International Research Center Initiative (WPI Program) launched by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Science and Technology of Japan (MEXT) in 2007. His main research interests lie in nanoscience and technology, nanoelectronic devices, and surface science. He received the Minister of Japan Science and Technology Agency Award, the Minister of MEXT Award, the Japan Surface Science Society Award, the Feynman Prize in nanotechnology (USA), etc., and was elected as a Fellow of the American Vacuum Society, the Institute of Physics (UK), the Japan Society of Applied Physics, etc.

Previous laureates of Nanoscience Prize:

ACSIN-5 (1999)Don Eigler (IBM)
ACSIN-6 (2001)Phaedon Avouris (IBM)
ACSIN-7 (2003)Sumio Iijima (NEC)
ACSIN-8 (2005)Albert Fert (U. of Paris-Sud and Thales)
ACSIN-9 (2007)Masaru Tsukada (Waseda University) (link to ACSIN-9 website)
ACSIN-10(2009)Walter de Heer (Georgia Tech) (link to ACSIN-10 website)
ACSIN-11(2011)John Boland (Trinity College) (link to ACSIN-11 Prize and Awards)

Best Poster Award

The Best Poster Award recognizes outstanding poster presentations at ACSIN-12. Anyone 35 or younger as of November 4, 2013 was encouraged to apply as eligible. Application was made at the time of abstract submission. The awards were decided by the program committee based on results of abstract reviewing and participant voting during the poster session on November 5.

Winners of the Best Poster Award